by Carolyn Batt

banditsLast weekend, I went to a Buffalo Bandits Indoor Lacrosse game at HSBC Arena. It’s a well known fact that Bills and Sabres games are popular, but I was surprised to learn that the Bandits game sold out—and that this was a regular occurrence.

I didn’t know what to expect from the fans, but I was quickly greeted with kids, teens and adults all sporting orange wigs and carrying pom-poms, wearing facepaint and lacrosse jerseys. The entire game was filled with cheering fans, exciting game action and enthusiastic announcers. Even though I live in Buffalo, I had no idea the popularity of these games.

The Bandits are a strong team, making the championships three times over the past decade before winning their fourth championship last year.They are currently in first place for this season.

The Bandits are a fun way to spend a night with friends or family, and tickets start at a mere $18. They still have seven more games left in the season, with four more home games at HSBC Arena (3/21, 3/28, 4/10, 4/18).

