by Phillip Weiss

ErieCoFairEvery year my friends and I make our way to the Hamburg Fairgrounds for the fantastic Erie County Fair. Celebrating its 170th year, America’s Fair has countless fun-filled activities, unique exhibits and eye-catching performances for all ages. The Fair is now open daily from 9 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. and runs through August 23rd.

From the delicious food, to the one-of-a-kind arts and crafts, to a wide variety of animal houses, each day thousands of people fill the walkways of the fairgrounds. There are numerous free performances throughout each day that include music, magic, balloon creations, dancing, acrobatics and wood carving. When I was younger, my favorite was the petting zoo that has animals ranging from farm animals such as cows and rabbits to exotic animals like camels. My favorite animal performance is the pot belly pig race that I know always puts a smile on everyone’s face.

If you get hungry take a walk down the Midway and grab some tasty and appetizing food. While browsing the food stands I suggest you get a crispy and mouthwatering blooming onion and a freshly brewed lemonade, which are both the best I have ever had. Then play some carnival games or hop on one of the classic carnival rides and have fun!

So get the family ready and spend a day in the sun at the Erie County Fair. For more information, visit www.americas-fair.com

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist Digg it : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

