By Karen Huefner
The Food Network’s Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives caught my attention from day one. While some of us don’t want to admit it, some of the best local food joints are the tiny neighborhood hole-in-the-wall establishments that ooze charm and character. Those two qualities are exactly what I found when I bellied up to the counter at Lake Effect Diner – a recent stop for Guy Fieri and his “Triple D” crew. This old-fashioned dining car-style diner offers a hearty menu of homemade classics. Not being a regular consumer of this type of fare, I felt that in order to get an authentic experience I was going to have to opt for a meatloaf and mac-n-cheese entrée. That was until I opened the menu, and the chocolate chip pancakes were staring me straight in the eye. I don’t typically break the traditional dinner boundaries by ordering breakfast in its place, but today was the day.

With my first bite of the triple stack, my decision was confirmed as a positive one. The pancakes were incredible. Extremely moist and not overly-chocolatey (which is typically a downfall of adding chocolate chips to pancakes). The best part of the entire meal was the side of maple butter positioned at the top. Between the butter and the natural sweetness of the pancakes, no syrup necessary! The pancakes were THAT good that I needed to call our server over to ensure the compliment got back to the line cooks. She revealed that they cut their batter with a bit of 7Up to keep them fluffy – go figure! The side of ham I ordered was equally as tasty with just the hint of honey to tickle the tongue. I topped the meal off with a cup of Lake Effect’s coffee and my experience was complete.

If you’re looking for a nostalgic dining experience back to a time when life was as simple as pancakes and coffee, swing by Lake Effect Diner next time you’re in town.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : Digg it : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

